July 26 Primary Runoffs Officially Elect Party Nominees

On July 26, Georgia held hotly contested Primary Runoff elections around the state. The Georgia REALTORS® performed Independent Expenditures (IE) for two of the races, which included Chairman of the Cobb County Commissioners and State Representative for House District 6. Independent Expenditures are campaign resources available to state and local associations from NAR, useful in performing polling, direct mailers, robocalls, get-out-the-vote calls, online advertising and other campaign services.

The Atlanta REALTORS® Association (ARA) performed an IE to support Tim Lee for Cobb County Chairman. Lee faced two-time challenger, retired Marine Colonel Mike Boyce. The Cobb Chamber of Commerce, the Council for Quality Growth and other community and business organizations united with the REALTORS® to rally behind Lee. Ultimately, these campaign efforts proved unsuccessful and Tim Lee conceded defeat to Mike Boyce. Boyce was successful in securing 64% of the vote and faces no Democratic opposition in the November General Election.

Additionally, the Carpet Capital Board of REALTORS® performed an IE for District 6 Representative Tom Dickson. Tom has been a friend to the REALTORS® since 2005 and a strong supporter of private property rights. In the end, challenger Jason Ridley, proved victorious in the runoff garnering 54% of the votes.

The primary for the Congressional District 3 race between State Senator Mike Crane and West Point Mayor Drew Ferguson, proved victorious for Ferguson, with a 54 to 46 percent margin. Ferguson will face Democratic opponent, Angela Pendley, in the November General Election.

October 11 is the deadline for Georgians to register to vote in order to be eligible to cast their ballot in the November election. Registering is simple and can often be completed online through the Georgia Secretary of State’s website. As advocates for the REALTOR® Party, we encourage all of our members to register and to support REALTOR® champions in the upcoming election.